Emergency Petition!

Brill. Just as Beestonia gets a scoop and touches a very raw nerve regarding the potential loss of Wilkos in Beeston, my laptop goes kaput. So as I get record hits outside an election, and a huge debate kicks off in the comments page, I’m reduced to running the blog from a rather battered Blackberry with a knackered trackball.

But its very important to get this out, and please pass on the info within. Tomorrow myself and others will be getting a petition together, standing outside Wilkos, to show the support this community gives to one of our finer retailers, and the employees who will soon be on the dole if this incredible piece of poor planning isn’t challenged.

We do need people willing to help: if you can spare some time tomorrow to help collect signatures we’d be overjoyed. I also will have to use the library to get the signature sheets together due to my IT facilities being buggered. Can you help? Let me know, asap by emailing mattgoold23@hotmail.com. If you can’t, please do at least sign the petition, tell everyone about its existence and maybe, just maybe, we’ll keep Beeston from losing one of its better shops. And as my thumbs are now red-raw through typing this, I’ll say tarah. Tarah!

12 thoughts on “Emergency Petition!

  1. JudyS says:

    This can’t be happening ! One of the best shops in Beeston. What are the council doing to allow this to happen? Henry Boot needs a boot somewhere it will hurt, they MUST find alternative accommodation for this shop.

  2. Kate Ames says:

    Matt what time will you be outside Wilkos?

  3. The Rylander says:

    Are you going to have an online form? Or can we digitally sign by sending our details to your email account?

  4. Kate Ames says:

    Any action at Wilkos today? I’m flat out today but Steve and Keira went down this morning. I want to sign the petition too, one way or another.

  5. Javid says:

    I shall try to join you.

  6. kate pearson says:

    Is there any way of adding to the petition online? I’m disabled and don’t gwt out much at present, but would miss Wilkinsons and want my voice heard.

    • beestonia says:

      Absolutely: I’ll add your name along with a copy of this message as verification. Thanks so much for getting in touch.

      • Kate Ames says:

        Can you do the same for me please Matt, I haven’t managed to sign the petition and feel so strongly about it. Thanks 🙂

      • beestonia says:

        I’m actually going to be nearby tomorrow, late afternoon, so I’ll pop round and grab your signature then if thats ok Kate.

      • Kate Ames says:

        Great, see you tomorrow Matt 🙂

  7. JudyS says:

    Is there anyway you can put the petition online for others to sign please? I did not get down to Beeston when the petition was available, I would also like to pass it along to my friends.
    thank You

Leave a Reply

